Teratology Society Fall 2011 Newsletter

Giving Thanks…

As members of the Teratology Society there is much for which we are thankful. The participation and continued support from the membership has led us through more than 50 years of progressive scientific research.

The efforts of members who have volunteered their time to serve on committees, as officers, editors of our journals, and various other capacities are vital to the Society. Every member of the Society contributes to our well-being that reaches beyond the current year and well into the future. On behalf of the Teratology Society, I thank each of you for your dedication.

During the next month as we take time to reflect upon the opportunities that we have been afforded and perhaps missed along the way, please keep the Teratology Society in mind. Birth Defects Research, our journal, is where you are encouraged to submit your manuscripts for publication. The editors are worthy of gratitude beyond basic expression. Please consider submitting your work in 2012 to BDR. In addition, perhaps you would like to consider serving as Editor of BDR Part A, as Diana Juriloff’s term comes to an end in 2012. Please send your interest or nomination to David Wise at ld_wise@merck.com.

It is not too early to begin thinking about submitting sessions for the 2013 Annual Meeting which will be in Tucson, Arizona at the Loews Ventana Canyon. The session proposal form is available in the Forms Library on BDR Connection with a submission date of April 18, 2012.

If you are interested in serving on a committee, please contact the headquarters office at tshq@teratology.org. You may also update your profile in BDR Connection to indicate your desire to serve.

BDR Connection is where you will find information about the Teratology Society and more.

John M. Graham, Jr.
President, Teratology Society

Nominations and Elections Committee Activity

The committee members, Deborah Hansen (chair), Jane Adams, Anthony Delise, Christopher Lau, Melissa Tassinari, and Robert Parker (past chair) have selected a slate of candidates for the 2012 Election.  The candidates have agreed to stand for election. 

Vice President-Elect:

  • Alan Hoberman, Charles River Laboratories
  • Mary Alice Smith, University of Georgia


  • Melissa Beck, WIL Research Laboratories LLC
  • Eve Mylchreest, Southern Research Institute


  • Steve Harris, Stephen B. Harris Group
  • Michael Schellpfeffer, Medical College of Wisconsin

The official ballot and candidate summaries will be available in February/March 2012.

Let's Go to Baltimore in June 2012!!

The Society will meet in Baltimore, Maryland June 23-27, 2012. The location is fabulous!

The meeting will offer longstanding favorites such as the Wiley-Blackwell Symposium, the Public Affairs Symposium, Student/Postdoctoral Fellow Platform session, Special Lectures, Education Courses, etc.  In addition, there will be a Grant Funding Workshop, Pharmaceutical Series, and a National Children's Study satellite meeting.  Many of these and other sessions of the meeting will be joint with OTIS and NBTS.  More information is available via the meeting website.

Key meeting deadlines:

February 15 - Abstract Submission Deadline
February 15 - Student/New Investigator Travel Award Application Deadline
February 22 - Early Bird Registration Deadline
May 15 - Advance Registration Deadline
May 24 - Hotel Reservation Deadline

Abstract Submission - Deadline Date February 15, 2012
Submit your abstract online. Please visit the Teratology Society website for complete abstract submission instructions and to submit an abstract. If your abstract is selected for presentation, you must be registered to attend the Teratology Society Annual Meeting. Take advantage of the Early Bird Registration rates and register before the February 22, 2012 deadline.  

Student and Postdoctoral Fellow Travel Awards - Deadline Date February 15, 2012

All students and postdoctoral fellows who have an abstract accepted for presentation during the meeting will be eligible to receive a $500 travel award, if travel reimbursement is required. Application for Travel Awards must be made at the time of abstract submission.



Please join us in celebrating these 2011 award recipients.

Robert L. Brent
2011 Recipient of the Narsingh Agnish Fellowship

George P. Daston
2011 Recipient of the Distinguished Service Award

Kathleen K. Sulik
2011 Josef Warkany Lecturer

Ludmila Bakhireva
2011 Recipient of the F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award

Maxence Vieux-Rochas
2011 Recipient of the James G. Wilson Publication Award

Scott F. Gilbert
2011 Robert L. Brent Lecturer


Preventing Preterm Birth Research Funding Opportunity

The Global Alliance to Prevent Prematurity and Stillbirth (GAPPS) has announced a new funding opportunity which will fund research into preventing preterm birth.

GAPPS will fund several projects for $1-2 million each to discover the biological mechanisms that lead to preterm birth. The Preventing Preterm Birth initiative was funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation as part of the Grand Challenges in Global Health

Details and application instructions are available at http://www.gapps.org/healthybirth. Letters of inquiry are being accepted online until January 31, 2012.



Wiley Holiday Banner ad.gif

As a special way of saying Happy Holidays, our publishing partner, Wiley-Blackwell, is extending to you a 40% discount on virtually all John Wiley & Sons print books*.  The discount is good through December 31, 2011, and can be accessed at: www.wiley.com/promo/HH1 or at www.wiley.com (enter the Promotion Code HAPPY at checkout to receive the discount).

*Excludes all German language books and some major reference works

Recent Stories
Call for Nominations: F. Clarke Fraser New Investigator Award, Patricia Rodier Mid-Career Award, and Edward W. Carney Distinguished Service Award

Register Today for the Virtual Human Teratogens Course, November 2-4, 2021

Reminder: BDRP Officer Nomination Deadline Is October 15